Thrift shop finds – Dinosaur land

They were trying to look awesome and threatening, all lined up in a row. A display full of prehistoric dinosauria. There was a T-rex, with its huge head and little arms,  a Triceratops, a Brontosaur, a Diplodocus, a Stegosaurus, a Plesiosaur, some Raptors, a Mammoth and others I’m sure my nephews could name. There was also a few modern whales and gorillas. They were sitting there, covering an entire table at the Chicken Alley thrift shop waiting for someone to take them home. “Ted already took one of the long neck ones,” said Sandy, as I was picking up the large brontosaur. I nodded. I didn’t know who Ted was, but I felt a twinge thinking about the great ancient beast I had missed out on. I picked three, payed for them and shoved them in my bag. The brontosaur’s neck stuck out of my purse.

Large head and little arms?

“What are these for?” said Louis when he got home, “your nephews?”
“No, they are for us.” I said.
“I love you.” he said, and that was the end of it.

The Brontosaur will go on his bedside table, the  mammoth, in the new bathroom, and the T-rex…we’ll see. It will stay in the kitchen for now.

The brontosaur

The wooly mammoth

Categories: Thrift Shop Finds | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

